Lit Happens

Books and bloggers to celebrate Latinx Heritage Month

Sept. 15 through Oct. 15 is Latinx Heritage Month and to celebrate we wanted to spotlight some Latinx book influencers who you should 100% be following! Keep reading to learn a little bit about each influencer and a book by a Latinx author that they would recommend! Alicia | Blog: akernelofnonsense.wordpress.com, Instagram: @akernelofnonsense My name […]

Books Forward BFFs September Influencer Newsletter

Check out the latest newsletter for our Books Forward Friends. This issue features highlights of our BFFs, fun titles available for review, and special opportunities for our friends. Download the September 2022 newsletter here!

Three women face life-altering events in haunting debut

Eerie stories perfect for fans of Haruki Murakami and Kate Atkinson BATH, Ohio – Step into the shocking, strange, and unforgettable stories of three women entering adulthood through a series of grim events in this genre-bending debut by M. Laszlo. Using his own personal journals, M. Laszlo creates an illusion of happiness struck down by […]

An interview with Ericka Arcadia of Hudubam Booktraders

What’s your favorite area of your bookstore? I’ve always loved our sci-fi/fantasy area the best because those were the books I carried around when I first started feeling like a reader. I was never the kid who read enough to get a personal pizza for it, and I never had money for book fairs. It […]

Networking tips for authors

It’s true that the writing life is often a solitary one–long nights alone at your computer, anyone?–and perhaps for that very reason, it’s important to intentionally step out of your comfort zone and find your writing community. Writing workshops (whether in person or online) are an especially great way to meet other authors. These are […]

Dark psychological thrillers to read before the release of Don’t Worry Darling

Harry Styles and Florence Pugh starring in dark, dystopian, domestic thriller? HOLD. MY. BEER. I am running to the theaters to see Don’t Worry Darling on Sept. 23. But if you, like me, simply cannot get the trailer out of your mind (seriously it’s on repeat in my brain cinema) then here are some dark […]

An interview with Grace Hagen of The Novel Neighbor

What’s your favorite area of your bookstore? My favorite area of the bookstore is the front window section, both inside and outside facing. It is one of the places where we showcase our values as we highlight monthly themes, books and sidelines relevant to current events. Linda and Michelle are so thoughtful about how they […]

Try a new book genre based on your favorite dog breed

Even though half of our team members prefer cats, we take National Dog Day pretty seriously around here. To celebrate, we have some recommendations for genres to try based on your favorite pooches. Take a look! If you’re a fan of hounds, try mysteries. An obvious choice, but a classic one. Some recommendations: The Searcher […]